Driving under the influence of drugs or drunk driving (DUI), they represent a serious crime that cannot be taken lightly. According to the Maryland Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, a person is guilty of DUI if driving with a blood alcohol level in the blood of .08 or more. The first offense can result in a fine of $ 500 to $ 1,000 and imprisonment for up to 6 months. In addition, it will be imposed mandatory community service for 50 hours or an additional fine of USD $ 10 per hour of community service. The defendant’s driver’s license may also be revoked for a period of 180 days to one year.
A second DUI offense can result in a fine of $ 1,000 to $ 2,000 and imprisonment for up to 9 months. If this is the second DUI conviction within 5 years, the offender’s driver’s license will be revoked for at least 5 years. A person with a third DUI conviction within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent, is guilty of a felony of the third degree, (no more than USD $ 5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment).
If you hurt others by driving under the influence (DUI), the consequences are even more serious. Causing physical injury to another is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $ 1,000 or one year in prison. Cause serious bodily injury while driving under the influence, it is a third-degree felony, which means a punishment of up to 5 years in prison and/or a fine of $ 5,000.
Being convicted of DUI is a serious matter that can have powerful effects on your life. Fines and penalties for driving under the influence are serious: you could be fined thousands of dollars, have their license revoked, and spend months and even years in prison.
If you are facing any DUI charge in Maryland, your best option is to consult with an attorney who can advise with respect to their legal defense and the best course of action you can take.