Depending on the type of traffic offense, penalties may exist in certain cuts that appear on your driving record that could affect your auto insurance. More serious offenses could result in license suspension, or have other consequences.
- Driving under the influence
- Reckless driving by speed
- Accident cases
- Criminal cases
DUIs are among the most common offenses in the country. When a person is arrested for driving under the influence, there are several tests that can be implemented if a crime has been committed DUI. In Virginia, you can consider a person with DUI if the blood alcohol level is equal to or greater than 0.08%. Although the level of alcohol does not pass on the limit, you may carry a DUI if the person driving seems to be inhibited.
While a DUI is one of the most common criminal offenses transit today, a DUI can be difficult to defend. After the years have become stricter DUI laws in the Commonwealth of Virginia and the devices used to measure blood alcohol level are more sophisticated and accurate. Thanks to these strict implementations and current sophisticated tests, the defense for a DUI can be complex.
A DUI charge in Virginia is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor and minor are punishable with up to one year in prison, 12 month license suspension and a fine of $ 1,500.00. Additionally, complicating a DUI even more, is that the charges and penalties vary depending on the degree of intoxication and previous DUI charges.
Reckless driving speeding
Under Virginia law, exceed the speed limit by 20 mph, or driving at a speed greater than 80 mph in a 65 mph zone, is classified as reckless driving.
Reckless driving in Virginia is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is a criminal offense. Although a fine management complies with $ 5-per mile over the limit set, and the maximum penalty for reckless driving is $ 2,500.00, 6 months license suspension and up to 12 months in prison. Obviously, such a charge may result in point on your driving record, as an increase in car insurance payments.
Often, drivers involved in an accident end up with a traffic violation, although the accident was not involved another car. It is important to understand that if a person is charged in case of accidents, the resulting case for that violation is only regarding the criminal aspect. It could still be a civil matter or a claim in the future, and it is very likely that what happened in the trial of traffic could affect any civil matter in the future or even automobile insurance issues.
Often, traffic stops result in charges of possession of drugs or other illegal activities for which the driver needs legal defense. It is important to communicate the charges or potential charges that could result from an arrest related reckless driving or DUI. Additional charges may unrelated to transit charges, and are prepared and qualified to represent you, if you receive such charges exist.
Basically, criminal charges are divided into two categories: misdemeanors and felonies. There are three types of misdemeanors and unclassified misdemeanor. There are six classes of felonies. The biggest difference between a minor and felony is the amount of time the customer could spend in prison. If possible imprisonment is one year or less, then the charge is a misdemeanor. And if it is more than a year is considered a felony.