Both the federal and state governments define the offenses under the degree of severity. The two classes of major crimes are felonies and misdemeanors under, taking the most serious felony charges. These two categorizations of crime secrete in degrees.
According to the Federal Government, a misdemeanor is defined as a crime punishable by not more than one year in jail. Misdemeanors are also classified as first, second or third grade. A third-degree misdemeanor is the least serious charge and usually carries a lighter penalty.
Since the states define crimes regardless of the federal government, which is considered a misdemeanor of any degree can vary across state lines. For example, although the conviction of a misdemeanor of the third degree in Missouri is punishable by imprisonment and a fine of $ 300, the conviction of a misdemeanor of the third degree in Wisconsin may result in double the amount of time in the jail and a fine of up to $ 500. To find out what acts are considered third-degree misdemeanor, check the laws of each state and the crime rankings
Common examples include misdemeanor simple assault, disorderly conduct, driving under the influence, domestic violence, and indecent exposure, violation of private property, prostitution, public intoxication, petty theft and vandalism.